facebook2 instagram twitter2 video web youtube search close

And the Drummie Goes To…

And the Drummie Goes To…

DRUM! Magazine just released the recipients of their 2016 Drummies! Artist Awards. Experts within the drum and recording industries are consulted with and asked to assist with nominating finalists for these awards. DRUM! Magazine readers also play a part in the selection process by voting for which of the finalists in each category they believe should be the recipient of the award.

Drummers don’t often receive the same amount of attention as their fellow musical counterparts in the industry. The Drummies! were created to recognize and highlight the skills, hard work, and achievements of drummers within the music industry. Many artists were recognized and honored with a 2016 Drummies! Artist Award, eleven of which happened to be Vic Firth Artists!

Runners Up:

Drummer of the Year:
Antonio Sánchez
Omar Hakim
Chris Fryar

Rising Star:
Robert “Sput” Searlight
Joe Saylor
Shaun Foist

Rock/Pop Drummer:
Brian Frasier-Moore
Carter Beauford

Hip-Hop Drummer:
Mike Reid

Country Drummer:
Ben Sesar
Chris Fryar

Blues Drummer:
Richard Danielson

Alternative Drummer:
Shaun Foist

Jazz Drummer:
Antonio Sánchez

Funk Drummer:
Aaron Spears
Chris Coleman
David Garibaldi

Gospel Drummer:
Gerald Heyward
Chris Coleman

Punk Drummer:
Brandon Barnes
Jorma Vik

Extreme Metal Drummer:
Alex Lopez

Progressive Rock Drummer:
Gavin Harrison
Matt Garstka

Studio Drummer:
Vinnie Colaiuta

Drum Set Clinician:
Keith Carlock
Stanton Moore

Percussionist of the Year:
Nate Werth

Studio Percussionist:
Walter Rodriguez
Richard Bravo

Latin Percussionist:
Jhair Sala
Richard Bravo

Rock/Pop/Hip-Hop Percussionist:
Daniel Sadownick

Percussion Clinician:
Tom Teasley

Jazz Percussionist:
Nate Werth

World Percussionist:
Pete Lockett
Jamey Haddad

Welcome to Vic Firth.com. This site uses cookies. To find out more about how we use cookies and how you can change your settings, read our privacy policy