facebook2 instagram twitter2 video web youtube search close
“Twilight” by Tobias Broström


“Twilight” by Tobias Broström

Performed by Third Coast Percussion

Mallet Selection for this Piece:


In Twilight, Tobias Broström focuses on basic ideas of chords and color transformation. An example of this occurs in the opening phrase as chords are passed off from duo to duo. “Twilight” is defined as “the light from the sky between full night and sunrise or between sunset and full night” or simply as “an intermediate state that is not clearly defined.”


Tobias Broström was born in 1978, in Helsingborg, Sweden. Following four years of percussion studies at the Malmö Academy of Music, he pursued a Master’s degree in composition, studying with Rolf Martinsson and Luca Francesconi.

The highly versatile Broström has composed music for dance, chamber opera and various chamber music groups; but in recent years, he has focused mainly on orchestral writing with works such as Transit Underground; Crimson Skies; Crimson Seas; Kaléidoscope; Violin Concerto; Arena – Percussion Concerto; Piano Concerto No. 1 – Belle Epoque; and Samsara and Lucernaris – Concerto for Trumpet, Live Electronics & Orchestra, which was composed for Håkan Hardenberger. His works have been performed by numerous soloists, conductors, ensembles and orchestras, including Robin Ticciati, Michael Sanderling, Anna Larsson, Karen Gomyo, Colin Currie, Dima Slobodeniouk, Johannes Gustavsson, Thomas Søndergård, Andrew Manze, Per Tengstrand, Mats Rondin, Tõnu Kaljuste, Simon Preston, Johan Bridger, Jaime Martín, Dresdner Philharmonie, Estonian National Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Gävle SO, Helsingborg SO, Trondheim SO, Malmö SO, Oviedo SO, the Symphony Orchestra of NorrlandsOperan, Aurora Chamber Orchestra, Penisula Festival Orchestra, Radio Television of Serbia Symphony Orchestra, Northwestern University Chamber Orchestra, Musica Vitae, Third Coast Percussion Quartet, Malleus Incus, Gageego, Esclats Percussion Quartet and BIT20. Broström’s solo and chamber music has been performed throughout Europe, the USA and Asia.

Between 2006 and 2009, Broström was Composer-in-Residence with the Gävle Symphony Orchestra under principal conductor and artistic director Robin Ticciati. Broström composed two new works for the orchestra each year. Two of his compositions were selected by Swedish Radio to represent Sweden in the European Broadcasting Union’s International Rostrum of Composers: Crimson Seas (2007) and Lucernaris (2009). In the autumn of 2008, his Arena – Solo Version was chosen to be performed at the 52nd International Festival of Contemporary Music at the Venice Biennale; and his orchestral work, Transit Underground was nominated for best orchestral piece of the year by the Swedish Music Publishers Association. In 2010, Lucernaris was nominated for best orchestral piece by the same association.

During the 2011-2012 Season, Broström is the featured composer with the Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra, as well as with Västerås Sinfonietta, where his new Cello Concerto, written for Mats Rondin, will have its world premiere. In January 2012, his double concerto Samsara will be played by violinist Hugo Ticciati, marimbist Johan Bridger and the Swedish National Youth Symphony Orchestra, during a US tour in Chicago Symphony Hall, Carnegie Hall and in Strathmore Center, Washington.

The music of Tobias Broström is published by Gehrmans, Edition Svitzer and Keyboard Percussion Publications.


Praised by Time Out Chicago for “chops, polish, and youthful joy in performing,” Third Coast Percussion uses an impressive array of percussion instruments to create a performance experience like no other. With exceptional talent and dedicated artistry, this “sonically spectacular” (Chicago Tribune) quartet combines the driving intensity of drums, the beautiful warmth of marimbas and vibraphones, and the surprisingly exotic sounds of everyday objects to make music that is playful, memorable and profound. In performances around the country, the Chicago-based ensemble has swiftly gained national attention for effortlessly combining the energy of a rock concert with the precision and sophistication of classical chamber music.

Third Coast Percussion presents concerts for all audiences, from the percussion novice to the contemporary music aficionado. Third Coast has introduced percussion music to chamber music series in Chicago (Rush Hour Concerts, Millennium Park, Chicago Cultural Center), Virginia (Garth Newel Music Center), Pennsylvania (Dickinson College), and Wisconsin (Taliesin), securing immediate invitations to return to each of these series. TCP has also championed some of the most formidable repertoire for percussion including the music of Luciano Berio, Philippe Manoury, Wolfgang Rihm, Louis Andriessen, Martin Bresnick, George Crumb, Arvo Pärt, Steve Reich, Frederick Rzewski, Toru Takemitsu, Tan Dun, and Iannis Xenakis. The ensemble is constantly adding new works to this already expansive repertoire.

Third Coast Percussion also has the distinction of being the only professional percussion ensemble in the country to self-present a full season of concert percussion music. In their hometown of Chicago, the group performs 4 to 5 concerts each season. The ensemble is dedicated to performing the greatest concert percussion music alongside lesser-known and rarely performed master pieces.

Highlights of the upcoming 2011-12 season include a major focus on the percussion music of John Cage in celebration of his centenary in 2012, and an exploration of the relationship between percussion and architecture through a new commissioned piece from ensemble member David Skidmore, in commemoration of Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesin. Third Coast is also active in developing new works. Future premieres include commissioned works by Glenn Kotche and Augusta Read Thomas.

The members of Third Coast Percussion—Owen Clayton Condon, Robert Dillon, Peter Martin, and David Skidmore—hold degrees in music performance from Northwestern University, the Yale School of Music, the New England Conservatory, and Rutgers University.

Welcome to Vic Firth.com. This site uses cookies. To find out more about how we use cookies and how you can change your settings, read our privacy policy